Car accidents are an unfortunate but common problem in West Virginia, so the state has several car insurance laws to help protect you.
Here are some things you should know about car insurance laws in the Mountain State.
You must carry insurance
West Virginia state law requires that you carry insurance on your state-registered vehicle. In 2023, the minimum coverage amounts are $25,000 for a crash with one injury, $50,000 for an accident with two or more injuries and $25,000 for property damage. The affected party can pursue litigation for additional compensation if the accident causes more than these damages. You must keep proof of your insurance coverage with you in your vehicle at all times. If you do not have insurance or do not provide proof of coverage when the authorities ask for it, you may have your license and vehicle registration suspended. Both situations require the payment of fees for reinstatement after the suspension period.
Insurance claims are fault-based
West Virginia is an at-fault auto insurance state, which means the responsible party’s insurance may cover accident claims. For example, if another driver hits you, causing injuries and vehicle damage, you can file a claim with their insurance company. However, if the insurance company decides you are 50% or more at fault for the crash, they are unlikely to pay you for damages.
Understanding West Virginia’s car insurance laws can help you ensure that you have enough coverage to comply with state law and pursue damages from the appropriate party after involvement in a car accident.